Posted in Announcement, Scrap Goodies

Inspiration Party at shimelle.com

vipguest

Honoured, that is what I am right now, to be invited to this weekend party

I was a member of the first Christmas Journal class back in 2004 which I enjoyed and followed it up with the Art Journal class and Real Mail class, I like the concept of online craft classes, the easy pace and the shared interest with no time or geography boundaries, plus no one knows you are participating whilst sat in your pyjamas !!

I have found the time and energy to complete two Christmas Journals since that first class and I am excited to take part in this inspirational event.

When I first looked at Shimelles download for the inspiration party I did quake just a tiny bit, the theme “self indulgence” wasn’t a problem but the colour scheme, Oh deary me, pink biased, now for those of you that don’t know me, I am not what is considered a girly girl and as my offspring are both of the boy variety, I had to dig deep.

Shim Sneak Peek

I diluted the colour scheme by using a kraft coloured cardstock as my background and using the lovely deep chocolate brown from Shimelles designs as my secondary colour I also added a little touch of aqua as an accent.

shim sneak peek 2

This layout features my usual large title with a couple of photos of me (taken by the husband) With Shimelles download sheet I experimented and printed it off A4 and A5 size too, using the full size pink boarded journaling note as a piece of “patterned paper” behind my photos.

ME time

The rest of the elements I used A5 size, simply by requesting A5 as the paper size from my print menu instead of A4, the individual cup cakes were punched out and mounted onto foam dots to use as embellishments, I printed my journaling straight onto the mini recipe card and added a punched scallop circle and ghost clock to complete the design.

This download was super cute and very versatile, available as part of Shimelles new class Go To Press which starts on Monday 3rd of August, over on two peas, get on over there and secure yourself a spot.

Don’t forget this party is a weekend long gig so don’t forget to drop by.

5 thoughts on “Inspiration Party at shimelle.com

  1. Oh this is delightful! It’s interesting to see how people used the same printables in different ways! (I had cupcakes too, but not up til later!)
    New blog to me, but I think I’ll be returning. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

